inside uf

The first monkey that I ever knew about that anyone tried to get out of UF and get into a sanctuary was Louis. A lab tech who is no longer at the university tried for months to get Louis released to Jungle Friends in Gainesville. He was murdered in July of 2010, 3 full months before I ever started the campaign to Free the UF Monkeys. The reason that Louis was not released is because he was in an extremely deteriorated state and the vivisectors did not want the world to ever see what they had done. In fact, Louis had a broken hip that was diagnosed in July of 2009. Rather than give him any pain relief, the vivisectors inside UF forced him to live in agony, with anorexia and chronic vomiting, while they repeatedly checked him for parasites to no avail. Eleventh Hour for Animalsfiled a federal complaint for systemic incompetence inside UF’s monkey labs citing Louis’ vet records.

Let’s fast forward 2 years. Bucky was a monkey inside UF who was being driven insane in his cage and was self-mutilating. Eleventh Hour for Animals focused on Bucky in 2012 because we desperately wanted to get him out and get him to safety. In my book, “Danger to Society,” that will be released this summer, I write about Bucky from my jail cell in Detroit. This monkey kept me up at night because I know I failed him. I went to jail and, while I was locked up in my cell, he finally died in his in December of 2012. I was not even active when this individual finally died and was released from his life of torment at the hands of his white-coat terrorists.

I do not believe Bucky was ever going to be released. This was a repeat of the situation with Louis. And now it is being played out again with Booger, another monkey for whom I just filed a federal complaint.

Nonetheless, without stooping to his level and naming him publicly, a high-profile welfarist in this movement felt it appropriate to come out publicly and assign blame to me for UF killing Bucky. What he did in all actuality is allow the University of Florida to use him as a tool to neutralize me. Vivisectors hate me and they should. The only reason I am here is to stop them and shut down their lucrative animal torture business. THIS is how we will free them all!

So when this individual in our movement publicly says that the benevolent white-coat terrorists inside UF were releasing monkeys voluntarily since 2005 and only stopped when I came along, he needs to explain, then, why they murdered Louis before anyone even knew my name.

This individual, who probably does do some marginal good for the animals, should be ashamed of himself for his role in promoting the vivisectors’ talking points in our community. And since I am the subject of an almost 2-year long campaign of slander by obstructionists within our community, his Facebook rants are now in the hands of those who exist solely to promote drama and are now going viral.

Further, since this individual and I had an ongoing relationship behind the scenes, if he would have contacted me privately and said, “Camille, stand down until Bucky gets out,” of course I would have. But I was never advised of any alleged plans to get Bucky released. I believe the vivisectors would have killed him either way because he was far too compromised for the world to ever see what had been done to him.

This incessant drama in our community needs to stop and everyone who is using this to attempt to damage me is only promoting the vivisectors’ interests.

My hands are clean.

And everyone involved in perpetuating this scandal and drama should be ashamed of themselves.

Camille Marino

